Back to top

Hastings District and Napier City Councils Smokefree and Vapefree Policy

We are proposing a few small changes to our shared Smokefree and Vapefree Policy.

Thank you to the 707 residents and 105 businesses and organisations who provided valuable feedback during pre-engagement earlier this year. We have carefully considered this feedback and taken a fresh look at the shared Policy.  

We have had a shared Policy since 2015, created in response to central government’s goal of a Smokefree Aotearoa New Zealand by 2025.

The 2022 Policy will be adopted by both Councils later this year.

The proposed changes include:

  • Clarifying the Councils’ responsibility to promote community wellbeing through improving social, economic, environmental and cultural wellbeing.

View the full proposed updated Smokefree and Vapefree Policy here

View additional background information here


Click here to let us know what you think


Closing date for feedback is 5pm, 29 May 2022.

Hastings District Council
207 Lyndon Road East, Hastings 4122
Private Bag 9002, Hastings 4156
Phone: +64 6 871 5000
Copyright & Privacy

Hastings District Council. Hastings - Heart of Hawke's Bay

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by Hastings District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Hastings District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Hastings District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Hastings District Council